Skip Navigation
Skip to contents


Congress Overview

Congress Title
The 16th Congress of the Asian Federation of Societies for Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology in conjunction with KSUM 2024 (AFSUMB 2024)
Shaping the Future with Ultrasound
May 9 (Thu) – May 11 (Sat), 2024
Coex, Seoul, Korea
Host by
Asian Federation of Societies for Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology (AFSUMB)
Co-hosted by
KSUM 2024
Official Language
Organized by
Local Organizing Committee of AFSUMB 2024
Important Dates
- Abstract Submission Due Date: February 19 (Mon), 2024 --> February 28 (Wed), 2024
- Abstract Acceptance Notice: March 15 (Fri), 2024
- Early-registration Due Date: March 27 (Wed), 2024
- Pre-registration Due Date: April 22 (Mon), 2024
No. Congress Venue Host society
1st AFSUMB 1987 Tokyo JSUM
2nd AFSUMB 1989 Bali ISUM
3rd AFSUMB 1992 Seoul KSUM
4th AFSUMB 1995 Beijing SUM-CMA
5th AFSUMB 1998 Taipei CTSUM
6th AFSUMB 2001 Kuala Lumpur MSUM
7th AFSUMB 2004 Utsunomiya JSUM
8th AFSUMB 2007 Bangkok MUST
9th AFSUMB 2010 New Delhi IFUMB
10th AFSUMB 2012 Bali ISUM
11th AFSUMB 2014 Kuala Lumpur MSUM
12th AFSUMB 2016 Kyoto JSUM
13th AFSUMB 2018 Seoul KSUM
14th AFSUMB 2021 Zhuhai CSUM
15th AFSUMB 2022 Hyderabad IFUMB
16th AFSUMB 2024 Seoul KSUM


The Asian Federation of Societies for Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology (AFSUMB) was launched in 1987 with representatives from five countries including Japan, China, Korea, and Malaysia. The AFSUMB is currently the largest federation in WFUMB that combines six area federations throughout the world and consists of approximately 50,000 members from 50 countries, including approximately 18,000 members from 16 countries in Asia. In addition to the AFSUMB Congress, the AFSUMB has been providing its members with diverse educational opportunities such as the WFUMB COE in Asia to share the latest information in the field of ultrasound in medicine and biology.

Officers and Councilors of the AFSUMB

Immediate Past President Yung-Liang Wan (CTSUM)
President Iwaki Akiyama (JSUM)
President-elect Jeong Yeon Cho (KSUM)
Vice-President 1 Sudheer Gokhale (IFUMB)
Vice-President 2 Jae Young Lee (KSUM)
Secretary Ching-Chang Hsieh (CTSUM)
Treasurer Masayuki Kitano (JSUM)
Councilors Jung-Eun Cheon (KSUM)
Akihiko Kikuchi (JSUM)
Ashwin Lawande (IFUMB)
San-Kan Lee (CTSUM)
Kowk Yin Leung (HKSUM)
Ping Liang (CMA/CSUM)
Co-opted Councilors Kanu Bala (BSU)
TP Baskaran (MSUM)
Erdenebileg Bavuujav (MSDU)
Musarrat Hasan (USP)
Quan P.B. Nguyen (VSUM)
H. Sidharta (ISUM)
Tuangsit Wataganara (MUST)
Representatives Mukhtar Alam Ansari (USN)
Saqar Altai (OSUM)
Gervais Wansaicheong Khin-Lin (MUSS)
Patria Cecilia Martinez (PSUCMI)
Journal Editor Yi-Hong Chou (CTSUM)
Website/Newsletter Editor Hideyuki Hasegawa (JSUM)